Chakra Colors

Chakra Colors

The chakra colors are typically broken down into seven and follow the order of the color of the rainbow, from red to purple and white. These colors reflect the different frequencies of light and energy associated with each chakra. As they represent the full light spectrum, the chakra colors symbolize the richness and dimensions of life.

7 Chakra Colors

Although there are differences between schools of thoughts about the exact color of each chakra, there is a general agreement about a rainbow-colored representation of the chakra system. The colors of the 7 chakras are:

  • First chakra is red
  • Second chakra is orange
  • Third chakra is yellow
  • Fourth chakra is green
  • Fifth chakra is blue (sapphire blue or turquoise)
  • Sixth chakra is purple (or deep indigo blue)
  • Seventh chakra is white or sometimes purple

Each colors reflect a type of vibration or frequency radiating through the chakras.

Note that because the knowledge of the chakra system as we know it primarily comes from Hindu traditions, we may see and color the chakras according to their representation. If we were educated in another system, there might be slight or bigger differences in the way we perceive these colors.

Chakra Colors Chart

Here is a chart of the chakra colors associating each chakra with the corresponding symbol, color and physical location.
Chakra Colors Chart
Even though the chakras are typically represented with specific colors, they may appear with different tints when one sees their radiation in the auric field. For instance, the heart chakra may be depicted as green in the color chart, but it sometimes radiates pink.

Chakra Colors and Meaning

When you see a color in someone’s field, it is likely associated with the activity of a chakra or a combination of chakras. Note that the chakra colors do not necessarily have a meaning. They reflect a specific frequency or vibration.

The meaning of the colors you see may be related to the functions and general characteristics of the chakras. For example, you could make the following interpretations:

  • Red is the color of the root chakra (first chakra): Safety, survival, grounding, nourishment from the Earth energy. Note that red may denote inflammation at the physical level.
  • Orange is the color of the sacral chakra (second chakra): Emotions, creativity, sexuality; associated with water, flow.
  • Yellow is the color of the solar plexus chakra (third chakra): Mental activities, intellect, personal power, will
  • Green is the color of the heart chakra (fourth chakra): Love, relating, integration, compassion
  • Blue is the color of the throat chakra (fifth chakra): Self expression, expression of truth, creative expression, communication, perfect form and patterns
  • Purple (or deep indigo blue) is the color of the third eye chakra (sixth chakra): Intuition, extrasensory perception, inner wisdom
  • White (or purple) is the color of the crown chakra (seventh chakra): The universal, connection with spirituality, consciousness

Healing with colors

When practicing healing with colors, it is useful to remember that each chakra has a secondary color. To better understand, let’s say that chakra colors functions similarly to the colors we use to paint. Remember the primary colors (blue, red, yellow) and the secondary colors (orange, green, purple).

The secondary colors complement the primary colors and result from the mixing of two primary colors (for instance, green is a secondary color that results from the mixing of blue and yellow). The resulting secondary color is the complement of the primary color that has not been used – in this case, red. Green is red’s complementary or opposite colors.

When you focus on treating one center, it’s also beneficial to treat the chakra with the opposite color. For instance, blue and orange, red and green. When treating the heart chakra that runs green, it might be also important to pay attention to the state of the first chakra that runs red.

Chakra Colors: To Go Further

Want Healthier and Happier Chakras?

When properly balanced each of your 7 Chakras work together to create an optimal life. If you are like most of us your energetic ecosystem could use some help. Take this 2-minute chakra test to know which of your chakras may be the weakest.

Take The Chakra Test Now!

Related Articles

Sacral Chakra Healing Chart

Chakra Test

Chakra Test ...
Read More
12 Chakras

12 Chakras

The 12 Chakras You may be familiar with the 7 ...
Read More
Chakra Meditation

Chakra Meditation

Chakra Meditation Chakra meditation is a form of meditation that ...
Read More

One Response to Chakra Colors

  • Robert Leon Abrahamian

    I greatly appreciate the simplicity that you provide us with information. As I read, & at the same time learning, I see blue,yellow and red @ hand. During meditation, with closed eyes, I see indigo, then a beautiful & brilliant white illumination. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.