The Heart Chakra

Heart Chakra

The Heart chakra is the fourth chakra. Located at the center of the chakra system, it bridges the spiritual and the earthly chakras. It is associated with the many expressions of love, compassion, and relating to others and oneself. The function of the Heart chakra is driven by the principle of connection and integration.

Heart chakra meaning

The fourth chakra is referred to as:

  • Heart chakra
  • Anahata
  • Hritpankaja
  • Dbadasjadala

The most common Sanskrit name for the Heart chakra is “Anahata”, which means “unstruck”.

This chakra is related to the element of air. As such, its energy is particularly associated to the breath and its movements, as well as the idea of connection with all things.

Heart chakra color

The Heart chakra is most commonly represented with the color green. The auric color of heart chakra energy can also be seen as a smoky pink.

Heart chakra symbol

The symbol of the Heart chakra is composed of:

  • A circle with twelve petals
  • An downward-pointing triangle interlaced with an upward-pointing triangle, forming a six-pointed star or hexagram

The intersecting triangles represent the air element and its all encompassing quality. They also symbolize the union of seemingly opposite principles or types of energies, such as male and female, spirit and matter. The star that they form evokes the harmonious joining of forces and highlights the function of the heart chakra as a center of integration and connection.

The twelve petals are often depicted with the color red.

Heart chakra location

The most commonly accepted location for the fourth chakra is at the center of the chest, between the breasts. As a chakra, it’s important to remember that it is multidimensional and is often represented with a front going through the center of the chest, and a back going through the spine between the shoulder blades.

It’s slightly to the left of the actual organ of the heart. That’s why it’s often referred to as the “Heart chakra”.

Because of its location, the heart chakra is associated to the cardiac system and the lungs.  These organs are interdependent and rely on air and breathing to function properly. The gland associated with the heart chakra is the thymus, which is in charge of regulating the immune system.

Heart Chakra

Behavioral characteristics of the Heart chakra

The Heart chakra is associated with the following psychological and behavioral characteristics:

  • Capacity to love
  • Compassion, empathy
  • Forgiveness, acceptance
  • Grieving
  • Relating, relationships, connection
  • Compassionate discrimination
  • Center of awareness, integration of insights
  • Harmonious, peaceful way of being

The Heart chakra is about connection and relating. While focusing on the heart chakra, the emphasis is on love, giving and receiving, and how open we are in relationships.

Another function is to connect and bridge the lower and upper chakras and their energies. In other words, the heart chakra acts as a center of integration of earthly and more spiritual matters. There is no dichotomy: In the heart, the experience integrates the two and allows us to relate to both aspirations in harmony.

Love is the energy that helps transfigure emotions and experiences. It’s an essential element of any relationship and relating. Love in the heart chakra is not just about romance, but about going beyond the limit of the ego and preoccupations with oneself into compassion and acceptance of all that is.

The heart chakra is also a center through which we experience beauty in life. Seeing the world through a balanced fourth chakra is being in a state of openness and acceptance that brings us in touch with our world and ourselves in profound and fulfilling ways.

Heart chakra imbalance

The heart chakra can become imbalanced as a result of life experiences, physical illments, or significant changes in your environment. It may manifests as a heart chakra blockage or an overactive chakra.

Imbalances can manifest as:

  • Being overly defensive
  • Jealousy; fear of intimacy
  • Being codependent by relying on other’s approval and attention, trying to please at all cost
  • Always putting oneself in the role of the savior or the rescuer
  • Excessive isolation, recluse, antisocial
  • Holding grudges, not being to forgive

When your foruth chakra is blocked, you may experience heart chakra pain.

Heart chakra: To go further

Opening the Heart chakra

Healing the Heart chakra

Want Healthier and Happier Chakras?

When properly balanced each of your 7 Chakras work together to create an optimal life. If you are like most of us your energetic ecosystem could use some help. Take this 2-minute chakra test to know which of your chakras may be the weakest.

Take The Chakra Test Now!

Related Articles

Heart Chakra Yoga Poses

Heart Chakra Yoga Poses

Heart Chakra Yoga Poses A regular yoga practice is a ...
Read More
Sacral Chakra Healing Chart

Chakra Test

Chakra Test ...
Read More
Overactive Heart Chakra

Overactive Heart Chakra

Overactive Heart Chakra An overactive heart chakra can lead to ...
Read More

One Response to The Heart Chakra

  • Dreama

    Taking the ovewvier, this post hits the spot

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.